Cricket Wales 2023 'Cricket Collective' Volunteer Awards Preview


Tomorrow on Wednesday 27th September 2023, nearly 100 volunteers, family and friends of Welsh Cricket will gather at Sophia Gardens, partly to enjoy a day watching Glamorgan, but moreso to meet with and celebrate grassroots heroes of our game in Wales, as the winners of the 2023 Club Volunteers of the Year - the Cricket Collective - are announced over lunch.

The Awards are split into several categories, showing the breadth of roles undertaken by our wonderful volunteers; they include Game Changer; Cricket Innovator; Connecting Communities and Tackling Climate Change;

We received 50+ nominations overall (many named below); Some of the most hotly-contested gongs will be in the following categories:

Growing the Game: Paul White-Pembroke CC; Richard Jones- Newport Fugitivies CC; Matthew Pritchard-Northop Hall CC; Luke Ingham  Sudbrook CC; Peter Doyle-Tata Steel CC; Carys Stallard Vale  CC; Adnan Haddadi-LLandaff CC.

Inspired to play: Jason Jones-Clwb Criced Y Bala; Lisa Dwerryhouse-Llandeilo Cricket Club; Matty Lloyd-Llanrwst CC; Nicola Morgan-Newbridge CC;  Darren Jeffs-Newport Fugitivies CC; Rob Felvus-Newport Fugitivies CC; Dyfed Williams-Pwllheli CC

Rising Star: David Owen-Clwb Criced Porthaethwy ; Luke Marriott-Llandudno CC; Leo Foster-Llandudno CC; 

Safe Hands: Adam Lane-Blaina Junior CC; Joe Lambe-Llandudno CC; Nerys Saunders-Ynystawe CC; Derek Picken-Rogerstone CC. 

Unsung Hero: Mike Devoy-Glangrwyney CC; Tom Thornton-Llandudno CC; Sean Hannon-Neyland CC; Luke Butler-Pembroke CC; Chris Hamilton-Swansea CC; Bob Gilbert-Vale CC; 

Volunteer Grounds Management Team of the Year: Peter Coleman-Barry Wanderers; George Richards-Cresselly CC; Mark Hughes-Llandudno CC; Dai Snelson, Darren Smith, John Wade, Paul Gilbert + Kenny Thomas -Vale CC Grounds Team; David Tibbs-Whitchurch Heath CC.

Lifetime Achiever: Tim Flack-Chirk CC; David Kay-Hawarden Park CC; Keith Hughes-Menai Bridge & North Wales; Paul Donovan-Tata Steel CC; Gareth Keenor-Whitchurch Heath CC.

A huge congratulations to all of these amazing people who make our game run so well. Quite simply, you are the backbone of Cricket in Wales and without you we would have no game.

If you have missed out on nominating someone special in your club this year, plase make sure you do it next year so they can be recognised nationally.


Official Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play