Regional Bursaries Awarded


28 youngsters from across Wales have been successful recipients of the inaugural bursary schemes that are available throughout the regional pathway programme.

The bursaries – which are named after a number of significant contributors to regional cricket in the past – run through until at least the 2025/26 season, and have been introduced to support cricketers across all four regions in their endeavours on the field. A combination of longstanding funds from the previous regional structure and new Cricket Wales investment means that players across the pathway can apply for and receive portions of the various pots available every year.

The application deadline for the first year of applications closed recently after a four month window, leaving the Regional Pathway Leads and their sub-committees for Cricket Wales North, South, East and West to deliberate and award accordingly.

Head of Talent Pathway Matt Thompson passed on his praise to all recipients in saying, “all of us as a Pathway team would like to pass on our congratulations to all of our successful recipients of the bursaries. We all recognise and appreciate the time, effort and investment that parents put into giving their child the very best opportunities possible and it’s great for us to be able to reward some of those families with a financial boost.

It’s been a tough year or so for everyone to stick with it, especially virtually during the winter but hopefully this is just one of many examples of how you can be rewarded, regardless of whether you play for Wales or have just started on the regional programme. We want to keep promoting the numerous bursary pots available across Wales and next year’s application process we envisage being pretty similar, but our first year recipients could not be more deserving.”

A full list of successful recipients can be found below – to find out more about the people the bursaries are named after click here:

Cricket Wales North The Neil Williams Bursary

Abbey Mayers (Buckley), Owen Opie (Mochdre), Casey Bedford, Jessica Price (both Llandudno), Poppy Smith (Menai Bridge), Harri Williams (Bangor), Morgan Yorke (Dolgellau), Sam Kitching (Aberystwyth), Dyfan Hughes (Denbigh), Noa Jones (Aberystwyth), Harry Jones (Llanidloes).

Cricket Wales East (Gwent Pot) – The Ted Tipper Bursary

Henry Sullivan, Joe Fairbank (both Abergavenny), Anuerin Evans (Croesyceiliog), Olivia Forey (Nepwort), Adam Mansoor (Chepstow).

Cricket Wales East (Cardiff Pot) – The Kiran Carlson Bursary

Lewis Popple (Cardiff), Morgan Burrows, Harry Burrows (both St Fagans), Zain Jhangier (Radyr).

Cricket Wales West (Carmarthenshire Pot) – The Mike Lloyd Bursary

Cellan Allcock (Ammanford), Owain Baxter (Llanelli), Cai Jones (Kidwelly), Gruffudd Owen, Gulliver Gribble (both Bronwydd).

Cricket Wales West (Pembrokeshire Pot) – The Ray Kane Bursary

Phoenix Phillips (Cresselly) , Olly Badham (Kilgetty), Sidak


Official Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play