Hawarden Park - U15s Junior Welsh Cup Winners


This year's Under 15 Junior Welsh Cup saw Hawarden park of North Wales lift the trophy at Aberystwyth Cricket Club. They performed extremely well in both their Semi Final against Pontarddulais and in the Final against Swansea.

Hawarden Park Skipper Tom Wilson had no hesitation to invite Pontarddulais to bat in Semi Final 1 - an early start and overcast conditions proved vital as they restricted Pontarddulais to 70 for 6 in their 20 overs. Hawarden Park then chased the total down in 15.4 overs, to set up a final against Swansea or Cardiff. Oliver Tyndall 18 and Romano Franco 17 not out seeing them into the final.

Swansea followed suit in semi final 2 by winning the toss and bowling first. Cardiff were bowled out for 69 - Mullai Chandramohan taking 4-14 & Oliver Collins-Hughes 3-10. Swansea, in reply, chasing the total down for the loss of just 2 wickets; James Lester 29 not out and Logan Jenkins 17 not out seeing Swansea into the final.

Swansea won the toss in the final and hoping to do the same against Hawarden Park again elected to field- however 'The Park'  posted 133 with Romano Franco top scoring with 39 off 40 balls and Cameron Moon 27 off 26 balls in a 57-run opening stand. Swansea, in reply, got off to a solid start with Mohammed Aazim scoring 30 off 20 balls - however wickets fell at regular intervals and eventually Swansea were bowled out for 88.

Congratulations to Hawarden Park - who go on to represent Wales in the ECB T20 Cup against the winners from Herefordshire next Sunday.


Official Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play