From 89 entrants and after 67 cup ties the 2022 Welsh Cup Final was contested between finalists Port Talbot Town CC and Swansea CC with the Final being staged once again at Pontarddulais CC.


This years Welsh Cup Final was the 50th running of the Cup and Cricket Wales were delighted to host 3 members (Andrew Millard, Clive Morgan and Neville Davies) of that inaugural final of 1972 between Gorseinon & Neath.


Amazingly the Cup Final commenced on time at 11am but only as a result of some sterling work carried out by a small army of Pontarddulais Committee Members under the guidance of acting Head Groundsman Ian Williams. As a precaution against the weather forecast the whole of the square had been covered giving us every chance of playing.  

Umpires Allan Hansen (Pembs ACO) and newly installed Wales ACO Chair Jonathan Kinsey supervised the toss between the two captains, with ‘heads’ being the call and coming down in favour of defending Champions Swansea whose Captain Brad Wadlan had called correctly. Most cricketing folk would probably have opted to bowl and that’s precisely what Brad decided to do (with the square under cover for the previous 36 hrs it was likely to assist the early bowlers).

And so it proved, with Port Talbot restricted to just 116 for 7 from their allocated 40 overs based in the main around a Joe Voke innings of 45. The Swansea bowlers kept it tight throughout with Kazi Szymanski returning 2 for 22 and Jake Roberts 2 for 12 from their 8 over spells.

During the innings break the general chat concluded that the score posted was probably 40-50 short of a challenging target.

The Swansea reply got off to a good start with 36 runs scored for the 1st wicket when Jake Roberts  was adjudged to have edged a ball from Lewis Jones through to keeper Dean Morris. Next ball, Steffan Roberts was bowled first ball to leave Swansea 36/2. When the chase reached 58, Brad Wadlan departed for 46 giving onlookers the thought that we had a game ‘on’ our hands.

Cameron Hemp had other thoughts as he stroked a fine 44no to take Swansea home to a winning score of 119 for 3 off 25 overs.

During the presentation ceremony, Jeff Evans (former ECB professional umpire) handed trophies to Ian Williams (Groundsman), Match Day Umpires Allan Hansen and Jon Kinsey + Match Day Manager Bob Szpadt. Allan also received a long service award for his contribution to cricket in Pembrokeshire. Bob received a bottle of Champagne from Steve Davies for his contribution to the Welsh Cup Organising Committee having appointed umpires to 68 ties.

Scorers Peter Barker (Swansea) & Ben Davies (Port Talbot) were also presented for their excellent book work.

The Umpires adjudged Cameron Hemp as the Man Of The Match for his 44no.

Cricket Wales South West Area Manager Keri Chahal presented to the Runners Up (Port Talbot) whilst Chair of the Cricket Wales Board Jennifer Owen Adams presented to the 2022 Winners of the Welsh Cup to Swansea CC, just before the heavens opened! Our thanks goes also to Steve Davies who masterminded the event and competition throughout the year.

We do it all again next year with Cricket Wales inviting entrants once again for the 2023 Welsh Cup!



Offical Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play