South Wales ASDA KWIK Cricket Finals


The 15 schools who had qualified from various Festivals across South Wales were divided into 4 Pools (apt for the day).  

Pool 1 – Llanfaes (Powys) Johnstown (West Glamorgan) Georgetown (Gwent) Cleddau Reach (Pembrokeshire)
Pool 2 – Glasllwch (Gwent) Romilly (Vale of Glamorgan) Cefnllys (Powys) Hendygwyn (Carmarthenshire)
Pool 3 – Gwauncelyn (Mid Glamorgan) Blaenabaglan (West Glamorgan) St.Oswalds (Pembrokeshire)
Pool 4 – Narberth (Pembrokeshire) Pencoed (Mid Glamorgan) Rhydypenau (Cardiff) Pengelli (West Glamorgan)  

Four schools emerged undefeated from the Pool games, 3 from Pembrokeshire and 1 from the Vale of Glamorgan (Mike O’Shea’s Primary School) to play in the Semi Finals. 
Cleddau Reach v St Oswald’s      and        Narberth v Romilly  

In two competitive games Cleddau reach defeated St Oswald’s  by 13 runs and Narberth overcame Romilly by 25 runs. 

An all Pembrokeshire Final  - Cleddau Reach v Narberth
Cleddau Reach batted first a scored a very competitive 253, Narberth played steadily through against a good attack and were still in with a shout as the final pair came in. However two tight overs, which included two wickets, helped Cleddau Reach to an 18 run victory.  
Cleddau Reach now go forward to represent South Wales at the National Finals at Grace Road, Leicester on Tuesday 17th July. Good luck to Mr Groves and his players I know they will play well and enjoy the experience.  

A final thanks to Nicola from ASDA, Mike O’Shea and Chris Ashling (Glamorgan CCC) Gwynn Hobbs and Alun Hardman (Cardiff CC) all the umpires, Geraint Leach, Nathan Millichip and Ali Waldron, who’s prowess on the Super Soaker was noted.

Official Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play