Panteg CC Win the Gwalia Welsh Cup Final


Panteg CC - Winners of the Gwalia Welsh Cup 2013

Panteg CC, skippered by Ian Bird, proved their quality with a fine win over Llandudno Cricket Club, winning through in the first national final by 9 wickets.  The winning runs were scored in only 22 overs after Llandudno had been dismissed for 123 in the 39th over.

Man-of-the Match Carwyn James completed his fifty shortly before the victory was concluded.  Earlier, Panteg had bowled and fielded very impressively: the two early wickets, both falling to sharp slip catches, halted Llandudno in their tracks and they never really recovered.  Useful innings from wicket-keeper Owen Jones and from fifteen-year-old Daniel Evans had brought some temporary relief but the Panteg bowlers, led by Chris Mee (3-32) and Adam Harrison (1-18), never released the pressure.

Man-of-the-Match Carwyn James - 7 4s and a 6 in 61*

Although Gordon Kerr bowled Akhtar Balouch for 16 with the score on 55, the result was never in doubt: Lloyd Smith (who was nearly out first ball when he got a leading edge) scored quickly and victory came in the 22nd over - Smith 34 not out and Carwyn James 61 not out.

The trophies and medallions were presented by Ex-England and Glamorgan star, Peter Walker.

Offical Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play
Let us know what you think about Cricket in Wales

How do you feel about Cricket in Wales at the moment?

What's is good that we should celebrate?

What is not so good that we should improve?

Please share your thoughts by emailing [email protected]