NatWest OSCAs 2014 at Lords


The awards were made by several famous cricket personalities, including Paul Downton, Hugh Morris's successor at the ECB, Michael Vaughan, Mike Gatting and Graeme Swann.  Each of these was interviewed by Jonathon Agnew and those present were able to hear some initial reactions to Kevin Pietersen's "revelations."

There are several categories for which awards are made and the Cricket Wales nominees for four of the categories are as follows:

Behind the Scenes - John Painter of Miskin Manor Cricket Club.  John's contribution was summed up by his proposer as always being the first to the ground and the last to leave!

Leagues and Boards - John Prickett. John is perhaps best known for his dedicated contributions to youth cricket, especially Schools' Cricket, though more recently as Manager of the Welsh U15 squad

Umpires and Scorers - Trevor Jones has been officiating a Umpires' Secretary for a very long time - in addition to long term devotion to other, mainly administrative, functions.

Lifetime Achievement - Gerald Evans of Pontarddulais Cricket Club is well known to anybody connected with the game, particularly in the Souithern part of Wales.  He has been connected continuously with his club for seven decades and continues to be active in his 81st year.  Gerald's nomination was placed in the top four nationally, although the award went to a gentleman who had been a member of Etwall CC in Derbyshire, for 80 years!

Lifetime Achievers Runners-up with Winner Maurice Vaughan (Etwall CC) and Mike Gatting.
L-R - Chris Johnson (Knebworth CC - Herts); Ivor Chaplin (Brentham CC, Middlesex); Maurice Vaughan; Mike gatting; Gerald Evans (Pontarddulais CC)

A report of the event can be seen by following the link below

Offical Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play