Mumbles Win The Welsh Cup



Mumbles CC - 2016 Winners of the Welsh Cup

On a beautiful Bank Holiday Monday, Mumbles overcame a strong challenge from Penarth CC to win the Welsh Cup for the first time.

Heavy rain in the preceding days made the outfield slow so that both teams struggled to make progress against the new ball but were able to accelerate in the second half of their respective innings.  The difference between the sides was the ability of Mumbles, in the form of Dan Lewis-Williams (63) and Man of the Match Aneurin Norman (64) to maintain that acceleration to take the West Walians to an impressive 189 for 5 in their 40 overs.  Their stand of 84 included some impressive strikes with a total of five 6s between them.

The Penarth reply was just as measured and the necessary acceleration was brought about when Ali Bukkhari suddenly started to plunder the change bowlers by striking sixteen from a single over. Partnered by Richard Skone (32), he had struck 46 from only 31 balls when Aneurin Norman returned to the attack.  He first ball was a loosener - a full toss - and was hit straight to mid wicket.  Joy unbounded for Mumbles!!

Penarth continued to attack but Aneurin Norman's pace prevailed as he wrapped up the innings for 158 with 3 overs to go and victory by 31 runs. 

Umpires Charles and Turner had no hesitation in naming Aneurin Donald as the Man-of-the-Match. He followed his 64 runs with 5-19.

Roger Morris presents the prize to Aneurin Norman, Man-of-the-Match

Before presenting the trophies, Roger Morris, Chairman of Cricket Wales, congratulated both teams and paid tribute to the host club, Neath Cricket Club for the way that the ground had been presented and for their excellent hospitality.


Official Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play