Croesyceiliog U15s Victors


Croesyceiliog Celebrate Their Win

Croesyceiliog CC became the Cricket Wales U15 Club Championship at the Finals Day at Newport Cricket Club.  

There were four teams, the others being Llandudno, Llandysul and Neath, from across Wales who had won through as regional champions.  They played a twenty-over format with bowlers restricted to four overs each and batsmen retiring on 50. 

In the Final, Croesyceiliog  were put into bat by Llandudno and, after losing an early wicket, Will Davey and Jamie Norman put on 38 before the loss of Davey’s wicket.  Norman was then bowled for 45 aiming to hit a six to complete his fifty.  Hywel Rose completed his 50, on which he was retired, and then James Scarborough and Mataius Kefalas took the total on to 148 for 3.  In reply, Llandudno lost wickets at regular intervals, with Ryan Bean acting as the steadying influence.  However, with his retirement on 50 they couldn’t raise the tempo and finished on 124 for 7; twenty-four runs short. 

 Earlier in the day, in their semi-final, Croesyceiliog had a comfortable win over Llandysul who they restricted to 68 for 6 in twenty overs with Jamie Norman taking 3 for 12 in 3 overs.  Luc Kear and Will Davey then passed the total in ten overs for a ten-wicket victory.  In the other sem-final, Llandudno posted 131 for 3 with Ryan Bean retiring on reaching 51 and Adam Sabri unbeaten on 38.  Neath attacked this total with relish with Matthew Ellis retired on 50 and Tian Thomas Wheeler making 35.  However, they got behind the run-rate and lost four wickets to run-outs as they tried to catch up.  In the end they finished just 6 runs short after a terrific game of cricket.

This set up a third/fourth play-off final between Llandysul and Neath, who batted first and scored128 for 4 with Tian Thomas Wheeler  (47) and Sam Mogford (39) leading the way.  In reply, Llandysul paced themselves well with Ieuan Paske making 51 retired and Steffan Rees 34 no to reach the target for the loss of one wicket with seven balls left. The trophies and medals were presented to all the players by Mike Reed, the Glamorgan bowler. 

Croesyceiliog CC now go on to represent Wales against the Worcestershire champions, Ombersley CC, for a place in the last 16 of the ECB U15 Club Championship.

Official Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play