Colwyn Bay CC Win Welsh Cricket Cup


Colwyn Bay Cricket Club added their names to the Honours List of clubs who have won the Welsh Cricket Cup by defeating Ammanford CC by 6 wickets at the Gnoll, Neath CC on August Bank Holiday Monday.

The match had been postponed from the previous week and even so owed much to the efforts of the Neath ground staff and members who worked tirelessly to make the game possible following heavy rain the previous day.

Ammanford's 93 all out was always insufficient as the North Wales side eased to victory by 6 wickets.

Invited to bat, Ammanford lost Hedd-Wyn Jones in the first over, bowled by Holtby for 0.  Rhys-Huw Davies soon followed, caught from the bowling of off-spinner Campion.  Alun Evans and Mathew Fisher recovered the situation slowly in the face of accurate bowlng, particularly by Holtby and the left-armspinners Paul Jenkins and Harrison Jones.  Alun's dismissal for 25 at 57 presaged a collapse with Mathew Fisher holding firm until he was eighth out at 90, stumped by the excellent Littler for 39.  The end soon came at 93 all out in little over 30 overs and Harrison Jones's 4-20 later earned him the Man-of-the-Match award.

Alun on strike against Holtby's pace

The Colwyn Bay reply was in the hands of skipper Sion Morris and Z M L Gidlow, both of whom have enjoyed ricj veins of form in 2015,  despite accurate bowling and athletic fielding, the score moved steadily on to 61 before Matthew Roberts struck to have Gidlow caight at slip, after some juggling, by Alun Evans.  Campion soon failed to spot the googly from Roberts and Alun Evans also claimed a couple of wickets in a mean spell of off-spin to give the Ammanford followers some hope at 77-4.

Sion Morris was in no mood to give their advantage away and was happy to take his time as the score inched towards the target.  This was achieved when Littler struck a four over mid wicket to bring a well deserved victory by 6 wickets after 32.5 overs.  Sion was left on 47 not out - the innings of the day in bowler-friendly conditions.


Sion Morris in action

 Harrison Jones receiving the Man-of-the-Match award

In his opening remarks before presenting the awards, the Chairman of Cricket Wales, Roger Morris, praised the host club, Neath CC, for the excellent efforts made to get the match played, in the face of one of the wettest Augusts on record. 

Ammanford Cricket Club - Runners-up 2015


Offical Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play