Cardiff CC Win the Welsh Cup


Cardiff Cricket Club capped a perfect weekend by overcoming Pontarddulais CC in the Final of the Welsh Cup at The Gnoll, Neath on Sunday 31st August.  The previous day, their 1st XI had won the South Wales Premier League and their 2nd XI had won their section as well.  

Ironically, the Pontarddulais last pair hung on to force a draw against Cardiff's main rivals, Mumbles CC and by denying Mumbles, effectively gifted the Championship to Cardiff!

Winning the toss at the Neath ground, Cardiff captain Adam Miles elected to bat first, and helped his team to a total of 212-4 in their 40 overs. Miles hit 89 off 104 balls, including six fours, before being bowled by Gary Arrowsmith. Fellow opener,  Harry Bowles contributed 36 off 39 balls, while Greg Holmes hit 61 not out, off 62. Owen Morgan was Pontarddulais’ top bowler, with 3-31 off his 8 overs, including the only maiden of the innings.

Pontarddulais got off to a shaky start in reply, slumping to 8-2, before finishing well short of the target, at 171-8. Opener, Arwel Thomas was top scorer with 48; Arwel and Gary Arrowsmith built a solid response following the poor start, but once the partnership was broken on 76, the run-rate did not climb until it was too late.  So, despite a late flourish from Owen Morgan (38) and Matthew Jones and Greg Fisher, Pontarddulais finished well short.

James Lewis was Cardiff’s most successful bowler, with figures of 2-27 although Cardiff's trio of teen-aged spin bowlers, Mujahid Ilyas, Tom Barry and Prem Sisodiya, were largely instrumental in bringing Cardiff victory.

“The Welsh Cup final is one of the highlights of the cricket calendar in Wales,” said Cricket Wales chief executive, Peter Hybart.   “It’s an exciting event for the players and for everyone involved in the clubs. For Cardiff, it was a really special occasion – they also won the South Wales Premier League first and second division titles, as well as the Vale of Glamorgan midweek T20 cup.” 

The trophies were presented to all the participants (including the umpires and scorers) by Alan Jones, the former Glamorgan and England opening batsman. Cardiff received a total of £700.00 in prize money and Pontarddulais, as runners-up, received £500.00.  Alan nominated Adam Miles as Man of the Match and presented him with £50.00


Official Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play