Ammanford take victory in the Welsh Cup


Welsh Cup Finals - Ammanford CC v Neyland CC

The two captains Alun Evans, Ammanford and Sean Hannon Neyland CC completed the Toss that was won by Neyland who elected to Bowl first.

Hannon and Nathan Banner opened the bowling for Neyland and Ellis Richards and Rhodri Huw Davies opened up for Ammanford. Hannon struck in the 5th over when he clean bowled Davies for 12. Richards (13) and Rhodri Rhys Davies (21) accumulated at around 4 an over before Davies was again a o victim in the 13th over with the score on 56.This started a mini collapse with Hannon picking Richards caught by Scott Jones and the prize wicket of Alun Evans caught by Sutton at mid-wicket. At 60 – 4 Ammanford were looking to Matthew Fisher and Craig Maloney to create a telling partnership. Hannon completing his 8 over spell with figures of 4 -31,with  Fisher and Maloney set about rebuilding and good running between the wickets and the odd boundary saw then add 91 before Fisher (47) in sight of a half century, was well stumped by Hannon (now donning the gloves) off Geraint Rees. A quick 22 from Matthew Roberts and Maloney completing a fine half century and then striking some strong shots through the offside allowed Ammanford to add 47 in the last 6 overs to take their score to 209-9 at the end of the allotted overs.

In reply Neyland opened up with Patrick Bellerby and Gregg Miller facing the Ammanford opening attack of Matthew Fisher and Shaun Coaker.  Fisher struck in the 3rd over when he removed Miller for 3. Bellerby and Andrew Miller were up against some tight bowling and had to work hard for every run but added 72 before Miller was well caught by Coaker at Deep Square off Roberts. The required run rate was gradually climbing towards 8 an over at this stage, Bellerby completed his half century but was then caught at Long On by Fisher of Davies, some strong blows by Sutton and Banner began gave Neyland hope, but Fisher returning to bowl Slow Left Arm and bowled Banner and Sutton was smartly stumped by Slade off Davies. Scott Jones kept the momentum going but the return of Matthew Roberts at the Taff End brought about a rapid collapse when he had Evans , Stumped, Murray LBW, Hannon LBW and Rees LBW to complete a remarkable 4 wickets in 4 balls. Josef Davies completed a return catch off Lloyd to end the Innings on 158, and give Ammanford victory by 51 runs. This completed the double for Ammanford who a few weeks earlier had won the Premier T20 Final.

The umpires Bob Miles and Simon Green adjudicated Matthew Fisher as Man of the Match for his crucial 47, 2 wickets and catch.

The Medals and Trophies were presented by Rod Jones , Chairman of Cricket Wales.

Thank you to Glamorgan CCC staff for all their efforts to ensure everything ran smoothly, the players, umpires, scorers and supporters of both teams for an entertaining and enjoyable game and visit to Sophia Gardens

Scoresheet Final 2018


Official Partners

Glamorgan Cricket Sport Wales England Cricket Board The National Lottery Masuri Chance To Shine Lord's Taverners NV Play